Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​​​​​​National Equivalence Committee

With the enactment of the Education and Training (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2005, which was proclaimed on 01 July, 2005, the National Accreditation & Equivalence Council (NAEC) become defunct with the repeal of the Act constituting it. Applications for the recognition and equivalence of qualifications are now dealt with at:

(i) The Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) regarding qualifications at post-secondary and Tertiary level.

(ii) The Mauritius Qualifications Authority (MQA) regarding qualifications obtained from vocational and training institutions.
(iii) The National Equivalence Committee (NEC) regarding qualifications at primary and secondary level education


1.1 Recognition/equivalence of qualifications (up to secondary level) awarded by various institutions from different parts of the world.

1.2 Equivalence of qualifications for the purpose of admission to primary and secondary schools in Mauritius and for the purpose of employment.
1.3 The Committee is also involved in the following tasks:

(i) Issuing attestations to students proceeding abroad with respect to qualifications they hold.

(ii) Advising the P.S.C, the L.G.S.C, P.S.S.A, Ministries and other bodies on matters pertaining to secondary qualifications and their equivalence.

(iii) Advising the Ministry on matters pertaining to education before signing of protocol agreement with other countries.

Downloadable Forms

Downloads in pdf format can only be viewed and printed using Adobe Acrobat Software.
The Adobe Acrobat Viewer is available as a free download (3MB) (link opens a new browser window)​